Happy Birthday, Son

Happy birthday today to Binh. I now officially have two three-year-olds for the next few months. It’s hard to believe he’s been home with us for two years (March 28th was our Family Day) , but then at times it seems like he has always been our boy.

Binh has grown in words and personality so much in the last few months. He totally talks in paragraphs and can sing songs, etc. Well, he talks to us that way, at least. He is still reserved around others. I think it’s just his personality. He also is becoming quite funny! He makes jokes (in a 3-year-old kind of way) and then laughs at himself for his accomplishment. One thing that he is mind-blowingly good at is puzzles. He is good…reeeal good. His teachers at Mom’s Day Out have him help the other kids when they can’t do their puzzles. I sort of hate puzzles, so I find this little gift particularly intriguing. Monday is his check-up with the doctor. We’ll find out then how he’s growing. I do know he can wear 2T shirts, now.

We were in Fort Walton Beach, FL. this weekend. It wasn’t warm enough for the water, but the kids had fun playing in the sand and just being on the beach. I’ll post a couple of shots I took that showcase my birthday boy.

Today, I think of Binh’s birth mom. I wish I could thank her for such a wonderful, beautiful gift. I’m sure she’s thinking of him, too. And although I don’t know her personally, I am reminded of a line from the book When God Found Us You:

She must be as beautiful as you are handsome..

I love you, little man.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Matthew
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 17:55:09

    Nothing says “tourist city” like the availability of a giant scallop to take photos in.

    Reply

    • metaphase
      Apr 05, 2010 @ 18:03:43

      You mean you DON”T have a giant scallop in your yard?
      We were at the gurfarium for that one. Celie could have gotten in on the action if she and Sarah would have stuck around.

      Reply

  2. sarah
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 12:03:42

    What a sweet post! Somehow, I just KNEW that giant scallop was from the gulfarium. I bet the kids loved it, we will have to do it again when I am not a ball of nerves and am in a little better mood – trust me, you would not have wanted me to stick around last Sunday. I was a beast to be around. It was a long weekend.

    I hope you all had a wonderful celebration for your sweet little man. I love the line from the book you quoted, it made me tear up.

    Reply

  3. Mommy
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 01:56:41

    This was great. I loved the pictures too. He is growing in so many ways. We love little Binhie too. All the pictures were so sweet. Just didn’t have one of my little girl.

    Reply

  4. Christina
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 18:05:28

    Happy Birthday Binh – um, a few days belated. Hope it was a great day. I love that line from the book – we don’t have that one, but now I think I have to get it.

    Reply

  5. Meredith
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 23:17:17

    I thought of you guys a lot leading up to the 1st. So great to see pictures of MOST of you!

    Miss you,
    Meredith

    Reply

Leave a Reply

