Why? Round Two

A few months ago, I wrote a post when Ava was about to turn three about her increase in the usage of the question “why?”. Fast forward to now and I’m happy to report that Ava’s why’s have subsided a bit. She still asks “why” a few (like 15-20) times a day, but it seems like a lot less than what was going on. Now though, I have a new round of why’s coming from my most recent three-year old. Apparently, Binh got the memo that turning three means asking why at least 100 times a day. And he’s not about to disappoint.

Here’s the conversation we had just after lunch today while I was cleaning up.

Binh reached up to touch the cheese grater.

Me: Don’t touch that cheese grater sweetie.

Binh: Why?

Me: Because it’s sharp.

Binh: Why?

Me: So it can cut cheese and vegetables

Binh: Why?

Me: So we can eat them

Binh: Why?

Me: Because we like to eat cheese and vegetables… Say, what’s your sister doing? You better go find her!

I guess I’ve got about another year of answering that question. I can make it. I may need prayer, but I can make it…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karoliina
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 18:07:26

    It goes away? Why oh why isn’t that happening with Tinsae? She is STILL having a love affair with the word.

    Reply

  2. sarah
    Apr 16, 2010 @ 02:23:27

    I have to admit, even in my 30’s I still love to ask Why? 🙂 Bless your heart, it is a vicious cycle.

    Reply

  3. asmalltowndad
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 17:18:26

    Why is dad wearing those shorts?
    Why is dad giving me a $20 instead of $40 to go to the movies?
    Why can’t dad keep his pants up anymore?
    Why do I have to go to school again today?
    Why do I have so much homework?
    Why should I make my bed?
    These are still my daughters… why’s?
    My question is… Why did I have daughters? Hmmmmmm, not sure! LOL

    Reply

  4. Elaine
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 12:39:26

    When my oldest was going through that stage, my second was about 18 months old and started copying her sister. So I had two of them why-ing me to death for months. I wonder if Quinn will ever hit that stage. He’s just about three now, and he’s talking more, but I have never heard him say “why” yet. *Crossing my fingers*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

