Here’s What My Backyard Looks Like

Since the weather has been nice here lately, well, except for those pesky tornado warnings this weekend, I thought I’d post a couple of pictures of the beautiful azaleas here.

Ok, so that’s not a picture of my kids running down our driveway. We went to a botanical garden a week or so ago and I took it there. The azaleas are just as beautiful in many people’s yards, however. I don’t know what it is about this area, but those flowers are simply amazing here, better than anywhere else I’ve seen them.  And you know those trashy yards where it looks like no one ever does any grooming? Those have the biggest, out-of-control, bloom filled bushes I’ve ever seen. And they’re completely beautiful. They’re like giant hedges going down their property lines. How is that even fair? 

Ava loves flowers so she had a great time at the botanical garden. My parents were in town this past week and my mom bought the kids some of their own flowers to grow in little galvanized pots. We’ll be putting those out today since it rained here this weekend. I’ll post more on that later.

 We had a friend with us the day we went to the garden  and I haven’t asked her mom if I can post her picture, so I’m only showing shots from behind the kids. As you can imagine, I only have a couple of those.

Here’s my artsy shot of the day. I didn’t Photoshop; I changed the white balance before I took it. You may hate it. I think it gives it a vintage yet somehow a little edgy feel. You can tell me what you think. You hate it, don’t you. Just tell me. It’s ok, I can handle it..

Just as an aside, we went to this garden a year or so ago and we saw a guy propose to his girlfriend at this exact spot. That guy was smooth, whoever he was. I think of it every time we go there.

Have great week. I’ll try to keep up a little better this week.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 15:11:06

    Gorgeous pics Sis!
    I especially love the one with the little buns at the fountain.

    Reply

  2. sarah
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 17:34:16

    I love these! Even your edgy white balance one. I love the flowers in bloom, when they die off – not so much. I cannot believe how HUGE the kids look! I bet the gardens were a blast with that age range. I can’t wait to see the pictures of their very own flowers. Sweet!

    Reply

  3. Karoliina
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 18:27:45

    All I have to say is this: We still have a pile of snow in front of the kitchen window. It’s been there since early December.

    Reply

    • metaphase
      Apr 26, 2010 @ 18:50:27

      Yikes. And I thought Boston was bad. I need my warm weather. People like to be around me more that way.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

