Planting Flowers

My parents visited last week and the weather was gorgeous for their time here. My mom has always been one to “play” outside in the dirt. As far back as I can remember, she and my dad worked in the lawn and always had beautiful flowers. I think her green thumb gene was passed to Ava. (the jury’s still out on whether I actually got that gene myself. It may have skipped a generation.) Ava loves plants and flowers. When she even sees flowering weeds in the yard, she comments on how “beauuutifuuul” they are. While my mom was here, she bought the kids a pot with seeds they could plant and grow themselves. We planted them a couple of days ago.

They picked out which plants they wanted. Of course they went for the Disney pots.

You can guess who chose which pot.

They were pretty excited about getting their own plants and wanted to get started right after they got to use the pots as drums and sing a little tune for a minute or two.

These galvanized buckets came with potting soil in a bag and a packet of seeds. Ava’s had cornflower seeds and Binh’s had sunflower seeds. Ava was really into making sure her little seeds were properly “tucked in”.

I think there may be a couple of seeds stuck in here…

Yep, got ’em.

They had a good time with this and it was a great nature lesson. And oh, they went outside a few hours later to see if the seeds had sprouted yet. We might need to revisit that lesson..

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laurie
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 03:02:10

    SO cute! And I’m impressed with your efforts. Travis and I are not exactly green thumbs, but our kids are obsessed with plants, flowers, and all things that grow from the earth…sooooooo, we let them each pick out a cactus for $1.99 at homedep0t. 2 weeks later, the cactuses are dead?!!! wth? How you do kill a cactus. Apparently I was misinformed about the needs of a desert plant. No more living green things for us!

    Reply

  2. sarah
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 14:06:56

    I love these! I bet their little hearts will fill with joy when they see the first sprouts! You all should totally plant an herb garden (in pots, maybe). I bet they would love that too and they could see how you use them when you cook. We have big plans for doing that at the white house, we will see if it ever takes off.

    Reply

    • metaphase
      Apr 29, 2010 @ 15:36:22

      Actually, we already have one! We have a raised garden that has tomatoes, peppers, and strawberries. Then, in containers, we have basil and rosemary that I regularly use in cooking. Ava was worried at first that I was putting grass on our chicken!

      Reply

  3. Momma
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 14:13:03

    What a wonderful time we had with these 2 great children. I loved every minute of it. Now I have to run (outside) and get busy planting and digging in the dirt.

    Reply

  4. Tracy @ My Minivan Rocks!
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 22:39:54

    I have a black thumb. I would never attempt such a project myself, but I am terrified that Mommy will kill their plants the first time they bring them home from school.

    Reply

  5. Christina
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 01:03:13

    I love those pots! And my younger two would love them too… hmmm…
    How great to have a special treat from grandma and a nature lesson all in one!

    Reply

  6. Ann Flowers
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 10:30:32

    Your blog looks wonderful. It was nice going through your blog. Keep on posting.

    Reply

  7. Rick
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 13:12:04

    Hi Sis,
    Awwww! Lil niece and nephew are really ‘sprouting’ up! Mommy said that she really had a ‘blooming of enjoyment’ with her grandkids. They are the ‘planted seeds’ of our future family generation, and will no doubt bring a ‘garden of beauty and love’ along their path.
    Luv ya –
    Bro

    Reply

Leave a Reply

