First Fishing Trip

While we were in Indiana on our vacation visiting family, Ash and my brother took the kids on their first fishing trip one morning. Ava has wanted to go for a while and even has her own Dora fishing pole which we took with us because I knew my brother would love to take them. He has two almost grown daughters of his own, so he’s been down the “fishing with preschoolers” road before. I don’t even think he took gear for himself. Not too long after they left, I got an excited call from Ava telling me she had caught her first fish. She was so happy and couldn’t wait to tell me all about it.

Here she is with her first fish. Ash took all the pictures that day. I’m not sure he got too much else done because he took about 100!

She’s just a little excited:

Binh also caught a fish that day, with a little help from his favorite buddy Uncle Ryan.

My brother, in addition to being a really great artist, is an avid outdoorsman. Aren’t those kind of people so annoying? Well, when I see a picture like this one, it makes me forget anything mean he ever did to me (not that he really did all that much). Look at my kids’ faces. They’re completely taken in by this whole moment.

I always love when a biology lesson is thrown into everyday life.  They said Ava wanted to know about and touch every part of that fish- gills, fins, eyes, etc. Oh, she makes her mama proud.

You don’t always have to take an extravagant vacation to an amusement park or the beach to have a great time. I’m sure this is a day of our vacation that my kids will always remember.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 20:35:29

    This is a day I will always remember! These kids are not only the cutest things since my own, but a absolute pleasure being with and spending time with. Their mom and dad did well! I love to take kids fishing and hunting, it takes a little patients but well worth it when you see the delight in their eyes (refer to pic #1) when catching one. All my love to my little fishing buds!

    Reply

  2. sarah
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 14:23:49

    I love these pictures. There is no hiding their delight!!!! Ash did a great job with the pictures, too.

    What sweet memories. I agree that something doesnt have to be grand to make it fun and memorable. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Leanne
    Jun 14, 2010 @ 01:46:40

    Ash did a great job on the pics!! Make sure there 2nd fishing trip is at the ranch!! You can do tons of fishing there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

