Excuse Me For Trying to Make the Earth a Little Greener

I’m not a total granola girl, but I do like to do my little part to help and to be “green” where I can. I don’t drive a hybrid or anything but I do like to recycle/repurpose and try not to be wasteful with the resources God has given me.

One of the things I do regularly is use cloth bags instead of plastic ones at stores. I don’t always remember to take them in places like the mall or Khols, but I almost always take them to Walmart and Target type places and the grocery store. I often do my “large” grocery shopping at Walmart because, let’s face it, their stuff is a lot cheaper. (sidebar: I don’t buy meat there. It just looks too scary most of the time.) I often also get larger amounts of stuff at Target because I love their Market Pantry brand, and well, it’s Target so I can always find plenty of crap I don’t actually need there. So, for the most part, those are the two places where I may use more than one or two bags. Now here’s the kicker. When I pull my bags out at Walmart to be used, the person ringing up my stuff gets annoyed. It’s not just the same person, either. On many occasions I’ve witnessed eye rolling, heaving sighs, and even dirty looks. It’s like they’re actually p*ssed off that I’m making them use those bags. Is it really that big of a deal? I guess they don’t like it because they have to take the time out of their normal routine to set up the bags on their little carousel. I don’t know what the problem is, but I now almost apologize for making the people use them. I shouldn’t feel that way, should I? The people at Target never seem to care, maybe because they don’t have that carousel system so it isn’t as big a deal.

I don’t get it. Has anyone else experienced something like this while trying to do what seems to be “the right thing”?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy @ My Minivan Rocks!
    Jun 13, 2010 @ 04:07:51

    I think some people just don’t get it. I went to Kohl’s recently, and I brought in a cloth bag that I had purchased from Kohl’s. When I asked the cashier to put the purchase in my cloth bag, she said, “Oh, that’s a really good idea!” like this was totally new to her.

    I used to need every pastic bag I could get my hands on when Noah, Zoe, and Colin were all in diapers. Now that Colin is the only on in diapers, I save up a few plastic bags, but I really try to use cloth when I’m out shopping.

    Reply

  2. Leanne
    Jun 14, 2010 @ 01:45:09

    I’m with Tracy…I cherish my plastic bags!! I use them as liners for the 14 trash cans in my house…excuse me, I mean the 12 trash cans in my house 🙂 and for the never ending poopie diapers.

    However, I love, love, love my reuseables from Sams. I use them everytime I go there and when I go to the pool, etc.

    I will end on this note…every experience at walmart is a bad experience. Ha! But, of course, I still find myself there.

    Reply

    • metaphase
      Jun 14, 2010 @ 02:22:09

      Yes, I still have plastic bags in my house that I use for trash can liners, wet clothes, etc. I just hate having a million of them. When I do grocery shopping, they would double plastic bag everything and I’d end up with waaay more than I can ever use.

      Reply

  3. sarah
    Jun 14, 2010 @ 11:19:52

    I can imagine the scene with the eye rolling and sighing. For some reason, I would almost expect it from most employees b/c people don’t like to be “off” their routine. Not that using a canvas bag is that difficult to make happen for those of us that like to do so. It is annoying to me that they get so annoyed. I would almost bet I may sigh back or roll my eyes at the checker if they did it to me, but then again, I am WAY hormonal at this point. 🙂

    In the words of one Stephanie Tanner (don’t act like you did not love full house) “HOW RUDE!”

    Reply

  4. asmalltowndad
    Jun 14, 2010 @ 18:05:55

    What I don’t understand is the over use of plastic bags. It seems that every item bought, has to be placed in its own bag. In the good ol’ day (because I’m old) they would strategically placed as many items in a paper bag as possible with out risking the support load. Now if you go to buy 30 items, the odds are you will return with 20 bags. I say use bigger and stronger plastic bags in trade for the weaker bags, or be like my sis and use cloth. Just makes sense to me.

    Reply

  5. Rick
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 11:50:57

    Hi sis,
    totally agree with lil bro. I have a large collection of plastic bags built from years of going to the grocery store once a month (you know how much I enjoy grocery shopping, lol). Although I am a ‘single dude grabbing my milk, bread, and eggs – they will place these 3 items in 3 bags. Although it may not be ‘green’, I use the bags for ‘trash and garbage’ take out.
    I know Walmart has their own ‘cloth bags’ for sale at the entrance – so maybe they frown on the fact you are not using ‘the blue bag from us’.
    I am with lil bro -stuff my stuff in one bag, doesnt bother me if my slice of bread is ‘smashed on the corner’. 🙂
    luv ya,
    bro

    Reply

  6. Christina
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 00:00:27

    I like the reusable bags because they hold so much more than the lame 1-ply plastic bags and they’re way easier to carry too. (The earth friendliness is a sort of ‘whatever’ to me because my liberal parents SO annoy me with their over-the-top earth hugging that I find myself wanting to rebel!) I’ve noticed even at the grocery store – where they give you 5 cents back on every reusable bag you use – the checkers/baggers seem put out when I hand them my bags. You’d really think they’d be used to it by now, it seems like more than half the customers use their own bags. Oh and I’m with your other commenters, it drives me batty how they go crazy with the plastic bags, even bagging my gallon of milk that really doesn’t need it’s own bag. (The other day, a mentally disabled guy bagged my groceries and he did that one item per bag thing with my reusable bags! I think they don’t even try to train baggers anymore.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

