We’ve Crossed Over to the Dark Side

Incase you didn’t know and for some reason are interested, we are now in the process of potty training Binh. I tried a couple of months ago and he would literally scream as if I were ripping out his fingernails when I asked him to try to go on the potty or put underwear on him. He hates not being fully clothed, so letting him run around “au natural” was not an option either. Needless to say, I wasn’t up for that kind of drama, so I just let it go. A couple of weeks ago, though, it’s like Binh woke up one morning and decided underwear wasn’t necessarily a bad thing. So, we started the training, and for the most part things have gone rather smoothly. There were a couple of days there when I told Ash Binh had “fallen off the wagon” and had accidents throughout the day, but in general Binh has done well going #1 on the potty- notice I said #1.

So in an attempt to get Binh to go #2 on the potty we resorted to one of the most tried and true tactics out there- bribery. We told him if he went poo on the potty we’d go to Chuck E. Cheese, like the very day he went. You see we have somehow avoided the Chuck E. Cheese scene for four years (since Ava was born. I know Binh is only 3). The kids have seen commercials for the place and knew what if was, but they just sort of knew it was not a place we would go- for as long as humanly possible. So, in desperation, we pulled out the Chuck E. Cheese card to try to get Binh to go potty.

Well, it took a while, but I’ll just say that last Friday we made our inaugural trip to Chuck E. Cheese. We had the pizza, played the games, watched those robot things sing and dance, and we came home with useless trinkets that we bought with tickets from playing all those games. The kids had an absolute blast. I told Ash while we were in the parking lot before we went in that I actually felt a little nauseous, but I did fine. It was actually pretty fun so see them having such a good time. I didn’t let them climb on their tube play structure thing-y, though. I just couldn’t bear the thought of my babies in a small, enclosed area where other snotty nosed kids with greasy pizza hands had been climbing. I know a couple of people who worked there when they were younger and so I’ve heard the things that go in there. I just couldn’t do it, even with my hand sanitizer. We have a three-story play structure with tubes at our church that I know gets cleaned every night so they still get to have fun on one, just not at Chuck E. Cheese.

So, we’ve crossed over to the dark side. I guess there’s no going back because now the kids know the fun of bad food and loud music and games. I guess they’re all set up for college with that knowledge.

Here’s the big boy on potty day:

I'm going to Chuck E. Cheese!

 

I’m open. I can handle it. Got any good stories about Chuck E. Cheese?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Jun 16, 2010 @ 18:49:25

    My kids love the mouse that is Chuck E. Cheese, Noah is already telling me he wants to have his birthday pary there. His birthday IS IN JANUARY.

    Do you ever read Perez Hilton? He is always posting stories about the sketchy things that happen at Chuck E. Cheese. Apparently adults like to fight there a lot. At the one in our town a manager has been arrested for sexually harrassing the employees and a woman was having her 5-year-old steal purses. Nice.

    Reply

  2. sarah
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 19:00:29

    I was going to put the Perez stories in there too. Fighting, shootings, stabbings….. what more can you ask for out of a kid’s dreamland? I am totally with you on the play thing…. I have not heard horror stories, but the thought of it makes me want to dry heave.

    Way to go Binh…. you see – our kids are no fools. They know that if they hold out JUST long enough, something really great will happen. 🙂 Isn’t it funny how something that was SO horrible yesterday is suddenly OK with kids? It blows my mind. I am really proud of him though. YAY Binh!!!!

    Reply

  3. samantha
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 16:08:46

    GOOD JOB BINH! isn,t it funny how you can get kids to do bout anything with the bribery! chuck e cheese is just not the same as it use to be when I was a kid though. mine love going though and its so exciting to see them get excited over going.

    Reply

  4. E.
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 12:52:27

    Oh my, do I have a Chuck E. Cheese story, but it’s not really good and it has a very sad ending (sum up: creepy guy at C.E.C. servicing games/rides so I kept a close eye on my kids . . . few months later in the news SAME creepy guy accused of doing awful things to his son and then burning down the house with son in it to try to cover up evidence and testimony from little boy). See? Horrible story. But the first time we ever took the kids? I thought I was going to puke from all the light and noise.

    Anyway, Yay Binh!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

