Playing with Fire

This was our first 4th of July to set off fireworks with the kids. We live in the county, in Alabama, so pretty much anything goes, as some of our neighbors proved. There was no need to go watch fireworks put on by the city because I think some of our neighbors bought the same ones the city would have used.

Being our kids’ first experience with “home” fireworks, we kept out selections pretty tame. I knew Ava wouldn’t like really loud ones, and I’m always afraid ones that ones that shoot up in the air will land on someone’s roof. (Apparently, our neighbors didn’t have that fear..). It rained a couple of hours before it got dark, so it was incredibly humid but made fireworks safer for everyone.

Here are the kids before we started. We’d only been outside for about five minutes, but you can see how their hair already is beginning to look wet from the humidity. I can’t even begin to explain how humid..

Ava is doing her best “high school girl lean-in”. Do you know that one? The way all teenage girls lean into each other while they take pictures? Well, it did not go unnoticed with Ava and she always does it with her friends now. She tried to do that with her brother, but as you can see, Binh is unaffected as ever with photographs.

At first Ava wasn’t sure of the fireworks that spun around the driveway, but by the end she was asking to light them! Much to her mother’s dismay, dad let her “help” him light some at the end. I wasn’t even completely thrilled with letting them have sparklers, to be honest. This is why God wants kids to have two parents, because one lets them try things that the other is too afraid to let them do!

The kids had a great time, and I did relax and have fun, too. I guess this is the first of many 4th of July fireworks we’ll set off over the next few years. I’m sure this is also about as low-key as it will be, too.

How did you spend your Independence Day?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarah
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 19:44:03

    I love the “lean in” picture. And when the girls get into college, it is REALLY “cool” to do the lean in with a drink in their hand (so you can tell they are cool for drinking in the pictures, of course).

    It looks like you all had a great time. I would have had to go in the house if Celie wanted to help with anything involving fire. I am a nut. But I am also an adult that is afraid of sparklers, so there you have it. 🙂

    Oh the humidity…. why do we even bother fixing our hair? I may stop, actually. Just give up until Fall.

    Reply

  2. 1beautifulmess
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 00:44:33

    Very Cute!! Love the pics!

    Reply

  3. Christina
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 22:57:40

    LOL’ing at the lean in… why do we do that? It’s not like it’s a natural pose…

    I let the kids do sparklers for the first time this year too, and was totally paranoid about it. How did you get those cool pics? Mine came out really lame. Maybe I needed it to be darker out?

    Reply

    • metaphase
      Jul 08, 2010 @ 01:53:22

      It was slow shutter speed, flash off. I was using manual mode with shutter set at about 1 second and f4.5 or so. They would have been better with a tripod, but who really has time for that with two 3-year-olds? They may have been moving too much for a tripold to help, anyway, but I have some of Ash playing with the sparklers that would have been better with one.

      Reply

  4. Momma
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 01:37:34

    Oh My Gosh How sweet. Guess that’s the reason kids have Dads. Moms are afraid they will get hurt. Just imagine what your Dad let you do when I was scared to death. Like climbing on the roof of a 3 story house,with snow on the roof I might add, and put lights around the whole house. Scares me yet to think about it. But you survived and loved it. (Even I survived it)

    Reply

  5. E.
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 12:34:35

    “This is why God wants kids to have two parents . . .” LOL! I’ve thought the same thing many, many times! The pictures are great, and I’m lovin’ the lean-in.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

