I May Have a Reader on My Hands

No, it’s not the one you may think.

It’s Binh.

 I’m pretty sure he “gets” it. It’s that Letter Factory, I tell ya’. I think he watched it until he got it all figured out because he doesn’t really ask to watch it anymore. He definitely knows all the letters and the sounds they make. He is so busy sounding out everything these days. And now? He’s starting to put together the sounds to make words. Let me be clear, he doesn’t know all the blends or how “ea” can sound different in words like “steak”, “bead”, or “read” (think red, there). But he is able to read three-letter words like “big”, “cat”, etc. and the other day he sounded out the word “Target” on the side of the cart. I think that’s a great start for a 3-year-old.

Now I don’t really care when my kids learn to read; I know they both will eventually. I’m not a person that is going to buy “Your Baby Can Read” or anything. I think the love of reading is much more important than the chronological age at which a child learns to read. But Binh really seems to enjoy this learning burst right now. So my question is, oh wise internets, where do I go with him from here? What should I be doing to help him learn more, if he’s interested?

Feel free to leave your suggestions in the comments!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christina
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 14:40:39

    So exciting!! I love watching my kids learning to read. (When it’s not painfully slow and excrutiating… then? Not so much.)

    My older two picked up reading very young. Other fun games/toys – the magnetic chalboard/letter thing from FP, the fridge word whammer from Leapster, oh and books on tape/CD. We have a Dr. Suess one that is really fun to listen to. (Kelsey Grammer reads the Cat In The Hat. Very entertaining.)

    Reply

  2. sarah
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 17:02:40

    how cool! We may break that DVD out again soon to see if it is warmly received this time around.

    I don’t have any advice, but wanted to say that I think it is great that he is so interested in learning and reading. Way to go!!!!

    Reply

  3. asmalltowndad
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 13:44:29

    Well it’s good to see that there’s finally another reader in the family… I was tired of being the only one! LOL

    Reply

  4. 1beautifulmess
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 02:29:20

    Izzie LOVES starfall.com — it is an awesome website that has taught her all the sounds and has taught her to begin putting words together. She wants to play on it almost everyday. She has gotten to where she navigates the website by herself (we’re sending in her MIT app now). Try it out and let me know what you think!

    Reply

  5. E.
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 02:45:07

    From here, I’d just say keep reading to him. Read whatever he likes! Dr. Suess, Easy Readers, whatever. If you want simple stuff for him to sound out on his own you could look for some basic phonics books (and don’t let the Dora people fool you, those are awful beginner phonics books) (at least the ones we have are, and we only have them because somebody begged for them for a birthday present), or even bust out the paper and crayons and have him help you write a “book.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

