Day One

We’ve gone back to school here at our house. Suddenly, I’m up every morning at 5:30 am. Let’s just say I’m not a fan. It does get me up and going, though. I can be at the gym or Target by 8:00 am. Yes, I’ve gone back to the gym after a long absence, but that’s a whole different post.

Ava is going to K-4 full-time. I wasn’t totally thrilled with the thought of her going all day every day, but it seems that’s the way most preschools are going these days, at least in these parts. I can still call and pick her up after noon if I need to do that for some reason. So far, she is having a ball at school. Here she is on her first day. You can see she’s pretty excited:

She’s stylin’ in her uniform, huh? She goes to a private school, but all school here in South Alabama wear uniforms. At least we don’t have fits about what to wear.

Binh also started his new year of what we call “playschool”. He’s going to Mom’s Day Out on Thursdays this year. They’re having art, music, and Spanish on Thursdays, which was an added bonus for us. I decided to change from Friday to Thursday this year because there were times we would have taken a long weekend if not for missing playschool. Also, it seems many doctors like to take their day off on Friday, so it was hard me for to get appointments, etc. without having to take the kids. I’d like to say Binh was just as excited as Ava about starting a new year, but I think the pictures speak for themselves:

 

He didn’t want to go to school and I had a camera in my hands- a double whammy. I don’t even want to know what he’s thinking in this one:

I can’t wait ’till he’s older to show him what an attitude he had when he was three years old. I didn’t catch him mid-facial expression in that one above. That is the actual look on his face. Oh, he’s somethin’ else. Here’s a last one:

So tell me, how is your back-to-school season going?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 16:58:16

    Two different attitudes, but both as cute as a button! And they have grown so much, even since you were up here.

    Reply

  2. sarah
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 19:58:36

    the pictures of Binh are a RIOT! I love the fierce attitude. I seriously laughed out loud when I saw those.

    And Ava looks so sweet in her uniform. I love the excitement on her face.

    It is hard to believe that she is already in school!

    Reply

  3. momma
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 01:22:44

    Oh my gosh, how cute of both of them. You totally captured both their attitudes. I love the uniforms.

    Reply

  4. Shawn
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 01:31:27

    What can I say, Ava is darling! But my ? about Binh is, is he still not over being mad at his dad and his sippy cup? Attitude!

    Reply

  5. bunnysmom
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 02:27:20

    excellent stink eye!! Your kids are gorgeous!

    Reply

  6. 1beautifulmess
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 02:26:31

    Binh is such a cool kid with that look! I tell ya…he is so funny! Ava looks so sweet 🙂 Love that girlie! 🙂 Growing up too fast!

    Reply

  7. E.
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 02:40:38

    Oh my goodness! He really does not look happy about school. The pictures are priceless!

    Reply

  8. Christina
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 18:04:30

    Wow, full day pre-school? We don’t even have full day K here! I love the uniform – and I wish my kids had them because boy would that make back to school shopping easier. Love how Binh doesn’t even try to put on the cheesy smile… but I bet he has a great time at MDO anyway. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

