50 Miles

How is it that I only have one child in school, K-4 at that, and I’ve driven 50 miles today? I took Ava to school, then went to my church to go to the gym. My church is just around the corner from her school, though. Ok, so not literally around the corner but certainly not too far. Then, I went home to take a shower before it was time for Binh’s gymnastics class. It was off to gymnastics at 10:30, then back home for lunch. After what seemed like a short playtime, it was time to go back and pick up Ava. Fifty miles by 3:00 in the afternoon. How is that possible? What will it be like when they’re in middle school and do lots of, I don’t know, stuff?

I guess I’m becoming part of the Mommobile clan. At least my minivan is comfortable to drive, and it has an outlet forย an iPod.

On a side note, Binh did great in gymnastics today. The “coach” (that’s what they call her, so cute) had him demonstrate what they were going to do on the bars today. She just told him what to do and he did it. The other parents were “oohing” and “aahing” over his effortlessness (is that a word, E?). I was thinking, “Yeah, that’s my gifted kid” but honestly, I had no idea he could do those things. Mind you, they’re only three, so it wasn’t like he was doing hand releases on the bar or anything, but it was cute. And I was proud.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Matthew
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 11:26:20

    I can’t wait for him to start doing the iron cross on the rings!

    Reply

  2. E.
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 14:31:10

    Yes, effortlessness is a word! I want to see pictures when he gets to the iron cross! Heck, you could even show us some pictures of his current effortlessness. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply

    • metaphase
      Sep 21, 2010 @ 16:46:03

      Yes, I’ll have to take my camera next week. I didn’t want to take it in the very beginning because we got in on the class after it had been going on a couple of weeks. I didn’t want to be “that mom” with the telephoto lens for my 3 year old! ๐Ÿ™‚ Now that I know the other moms, I don’t really care what they think. (not that they’re bad people, I just mean I’m comfortable enough now not to care)

      Reply

  3. asmalltowndad
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 13:51:11

    It’s amazing how many miles you put on a car everyday when you actually keep track of it. It sounds like all is well even though you’re extremely busy, so have fun with it. Give’m both a hug for me!

    Reply

  4. burstmode
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 16:14:45

    In the times I have been Mr. Mom, I am always amazed at how much running-around is involved. Your life sounds very similar to ours except ours revolves around swimming. Honda minivan?

    Reply

  5. Rick
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 12:36:44

    Hi lil sis,
    awww -you are such a sweet mommy. Just remember it is not the miles you create on the road – it is the moments you create with your children in their hearts. ๐Ÿ™‚
    luv ya,
    Bro

    p.s. Say ‘hello’ to them for me, and to your ‘big kid’ Ash! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  6. Christina
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 17:22:16

    I’m taking the lazy way out this year… R and Zeeb are only doing after school activities AT their school… cuts WAY down on the driving!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I bet Binh’s awesome at gymnastics. I still regret not starting R earlier, I think she could’ve been really good. But then again, she didn’t like all the work/discipline involved so maybe not!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

