Staycation

*****UPDATE AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS POST*****

Ash took a few days off this past week, and Ava had today off of school for some teacher service day or something. We chose not to go anywhere, though. Ash really wanted to just stay home and get to be a part of our everyday lives. It was really great, especially for the kids who were not used to having daddy around for things like breakfast (and lunch, and dinner…:)

On Thursday, I got up and showered to get ready to take Ava to school. After I was all ready she told me she wanted Daddy to take her. I asked her if she wanted Daddy to go with us or just for Daddy to take her alone. She said, “Just Daddy and me.” That was fine by me so Binh and I stayed home while Daddy took Ava by himself. Binh had MDO on Thursday, so Ash and I got to have a day by ourselves for a change. We did a little window shopping then went to lunch together. I had a hair appointment at 1:00, so Ash went and picked up the kids. They felt so special having Ash pick them up.

My hair salon is doing the pink hair extensions for Breast Cancer Awareness this month. For $10, you get a little pink hair extension put in to show your support. All the money goes to charity for breast cancer. I got one and I knew another little person who would think it was the coolest thing in the world. I told Ash to ask at school if Ava would be allowed to have one when he picked her up. Well, I guess he thought it would be easier to ask forgiveness than permission because they came back to the salon and he told me he had forgotten to ask but to go ahead and do it anyway. Ava got her “pink hair” and was so proud to have it. As it turns out, the school was totally fine with it, pretty cool for a private, Christian school if you ask me.

Friday, Ash went to Ava’s school to meet her for lunch in her cafeteria. He took her a Happy Meal, so I know she thought it was awesome. I can remember my parents surprising me with lunch sometimes, and I thought it was the coolest thing ever. I know Ava must have felt the same way. Meanwhile, Binh and I went out to lunch together as well, and he seemed to have a big time, too. Ash went ahead and brought Ava home after lunch, and we messed around the rest of the day together.

We did our usual weekend stuff- naps, mowing, church, church meetings, etc. We took the kids out for pizza one night and watched our Red Sox end their season (sniff).  Today, both kids got to participate in Binh’s gymnastics class and had fun together. I have to say, it’s a good thing the two aren’t in a class together all the time or the coach would have her hands full. They are such buddies and chit-chat with each other all the time. After a while, they started kinda’ doing some stuff on their own and the coach had to call them back over with the other kids! 

It was a great few days off from the normal routine, and it was terrific having an extra pair of hands to help out with the kids and logistics of our day. I neglected my laundry for the last 5 days, though, so now I’m in the middle of a wash-a-thon. It was worth it, though, and I know the kids had a ball the last few days.

I didn’t mean for the pink hair to become such a focal point of this post, but I didn’t realize that salons all over the country weren’t doing this fundraiser. After speaking to a few people I found out it wasn’t going on everywhere. So, here’s a picture of Ava’s pink hair. Given, she had been wearing her pony tail all day, so her hair doesn’t look its best, but at least it’s a visual:

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Matthew
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 17:28:06

    Let’s see a picture of your new pink hair weave.

    Reply

  2. asmalltowndad
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 14:24:20

    Wow, this brings back wonderful memories of taking lunch to the girls and picking them up from school. The one thing I really miss was the wrestling and tossing them in bed, on a weekend morning. They used to come in and jump on me, I would pick them up above my head and throw them on the bed and act like we were fighting. Now at 6′ and 5′ 4″, there’s no throwing… except for throwing out my back maybe. I loved the moments and the memories and I thank them and God for those special moments. Thanks Sis for reminding me of the good times and I hope you make many more memories with those little sweethearts.

    Reply

  3. sarah
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 19:24:43

    that is awesome! I really want to see the pink hair, too! I remember having special lunches with my mom when I was in school! How neat that Ash got to do it with her. It sounds like you all had a really nice time spending time together as a family. Those are the best memories!!!

    Reply

  4. E.
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 19:52:35

    I love when we get to have the husband at home and break out of the normal routine for a day or two. It doesn’t happen often, but it’s great when it does. I want to see your pink hair, too! And Ava’s.

    Reply

  5. Terri Anne
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 19:39:31

    Yes… I was hoping for pink hair pictures 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

