Butterfly Kisses

Monday was Columbus Day, so Ava didn’t have school and Ash was off of work again. I know, two Mondays off of work for Ash, in a row- I didn’t know how to act. Plus, those Mondays off meant four-day work/school weeks. I’m trying not to get spoiled.

Anyway, since we had another day together, we decided to go to the beach. Yes, it was October 11. That’s just part of the beauty of living in the Deep South. It was about 85 degrees without humidity (for once, thank God) so we headed out for the day since it would most likely be our only and last beach outing of the year. We’ve been to the beach this year, but not our beach, Alabama’s beach. Thanks to BP, we didn’t get to go this summer at all. There’s a little spot we like to go to that isn’t too far from our house that is a little more protected than say, Gulf Shores, AL. so the waves are smaller and the kids like it just fine. I’ll tell you about how the kids did at the beach in another post. What I really want to talk about is something the likes of which I have never seen. Butterflies.

When we got to the beach, we started our trek with all of our ton of beach gear down to a spot near the water. I commented to Ash that there were some butterflies passing as we walked. I contributed it to some long beach grasses we were walking near. Boy, was I wrong. I came to realize we were in the middle of a Monarch butterfly migration. It was special and lovely, and very hard to photograph as I soon learned. Here are some (and by some I mean many) photos I took.

I can’t explain how many butterflies we saw this day. I would say a thousand, no joke. They weren’t in a huge cloud flying overhead, but there would be 10-20 passing by every few seconds- for the entire time we were there. It was really something to see them flying along the shore line like they were. The whole thing was strange and beautiful and, dare I say, enchanting?

You would think it would be easy to capture them on “film” (I use that term loosely since my camera is digital!) because of the sheer number of butterflies that were out that day. These little guys were quick, though. They were really speeding along, especially for insects.

In the one above, you can see a few of this guy’s friends flying along behind him. Here’s another shot that gives you an idea of what we were seeing all around us:

I don’t know if you can see them, but all the little dots in the photo are butterflies. We counted eleven butterflies in this picture, and keep in mind I’m in the middle of them so there were more around/behind me. It was just so cool. I wish you could have been there. A lot of my pictures of other things included butterflies accidentally.

In this one, I was going for Ash and Ava when a butterfly came into my viewfinder, so I adjusted to include them both. In the next one, I was going to get a photo of the water and the sand castle Ash and the kids made when one little guy decided to fly very near the castle.

I guess I can chalk this up to another new experience. It was unexpected and totally fun!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. photographyfree4all
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 03:59:51

    These were very interesting shots. Great captures in flight! I’ve not seen that before.

    Reply

  2. asmalltowndad
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 16:53:32

    Great shots Sis, they look like you have taken the shots into photoshop and added the butterflies. It seems odd that they were along the ocean, I’m used to seeing them in the open fields. I shutter to think of your talent… get it… SHUTTER!

    Reply

  3. bunnysmom
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 16:24:02

    Beautiful!!!!!!

    Reply

  4. E.
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 01:25:21

    Wow, those are some amazing pictures! I’ve tried to shoot butterflies in a butterfly house before, and it was impossible! The fact that you got those shots on the beach just impresses the heck outta me. I’d imagine enchanting is a perfect word to describe your experience with the butterfly migration.

    Reply

  5. Matthew
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 15:31:51

    Char. You never cease to amaze me with your photo-graffy skills. That one butterfly has a really thick body – gross. Or maybe it just looked like that in the shot. Nonetheless, great job as usual.

    Reply

  6. Christina
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 16:58:00

    Butterflies at the beach? How cool!! And I agree, butterflies are surprisingly hard to photograph. Their wings always flap at just the wrong times.

    Reply

  7. 1beautifulmess
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 13:12:14

    That is so cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

