..It’s Been Almost Two Weeks Since My Last Confession..

Ok, so I’m not Catholic, but it has been a while since I posted anything. I’m not sure why, but I have been busy doing a whole lotta’ nothing, it seems.

Friday is our 16th wedding anniversary. I have Ash a gift, but it’s not anything too big. I spent almost $100 on it, but I’m not sure how he’ll take it as an anniversary gift. It’s something we’ve both wanted, but could never bring ourselves to spend the money on. I’ll tell you what it is after our anniversary on the off-chance that he’s reading my blog.

I have to tell you something funny Binh said the other day. Lately, he’s been asking how to spell all sorts of things, random things like “shipyard”, ” kazoo”, and “Uncle Ryan”. Ok, so the last one wasn’t so very random, but I had to throw it in there because he did ask how to spell it. I just don’t understand why the child needs to know the way to spell so many things. He’s not writing them down or anything, he’s just asking. So, the other day I asked him, “Binh why do you need to know how to spell that?”  His response was, “because I don’t know how.” Well, I guess that’s a reason.

He’s also really into knowing what time it is. This one really baffles me because I don’t feel like he really has a sense of time. Does he have somewhere he needs to be? Who knows? We were in the grocery store today and he asked me what time is was. I told him we were almost done then we’d go home and have lunch and he said, “NO. What TIME is it?” He wanted me to tell him the exact time, in hours and minutes. Random kid.

One more bit of news about the boy and then I’ll go for now. We found out in his class yesterday that, in January, Binh will be joining the 5-6 year old boys class in gymnastics. In that class, they start doing the men’s apparatuses (is that the plural of apparatus? Elaine will tell me..). No, he won’t be doing an iron cross anytime soon, but it is a step up from where he is now. Plus, it will be all boys in the class and I think that will be fun for him.

I guess that’s all for now. I still need to post some more pictures from our time at the beach. Maybe I can get those up in the next few days.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 14:41:09

    I love this kid, and so smart! Just like his Uncle Ryan… spelled U N K L E R Y A N… oops o.k. maybe not just like his Uncle!

    Reply

  2. Christina
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 19:53:51

    Isn’t it funny, it seems like a bunch of us have been slow/absent bloggers lately. The fall must’ve taken us all by storm.

    Zeeb totally did that too with the time thing… also he wants to know what direction we’re going (as in N/S/W/E) — and I’m always like, “why do you need to know that?!” Befuddling.

    Reply

  3. 1beautifulmess
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 13:10:46

    That is great! He’s so funny!

    Reply

  4. Carol King
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 13:13:36

    Friday is my 22nd Wedding Anniversary! So happy anniversary to us!

    I like it very much that your son wants to know how to spell things just because he doesn’t know how. Curious, inquisitive mind. Good for him.

    (BTW, I’m a blog-friend of Ryans….just in case you had no clue who was commenting.)

    Reply

  5. Candace
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 04:17:12

    My daughter is 3 and she asks me what time it is constantly….and I too have no idea why she needs to know….she just does. She also is always asking us what day it is. I don’t think she understands the time thing, but I do think she’s beginning to relate her routine to the days of the week. Such a funny and intersting age.

    Reply

  6. E.
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 00:10:01

    The plural can be either apparatus (just like the singular) or apparatuses. But doesn’t it just sound like it should be apparati? Tank Boy used to always ask me how to spell everything all the time. Then he started writing it down sometimes. Then he started reading all on his own shortly before he turned five. Of my five children, he is by far the best speller.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

