The Devil Made Me Do It and Other Deep Theological Theories

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it before (I probably have), but Ava asks a lot of questions. A. Lot. Ash said he was always asking questions as a kid. That curiosity has served him well as an engineer. He said he always wanted to understand how/why everything worked, so he’d take things apart and put them back together. I guess she gets it honest, in other words, and hopefully it will keep her asking questions of how, what, and of course WHY as an adult in whatever she does.

Sometimes, though, Ava really has some questions that are hard to answer. I try to never lie to my kids. Well, I try to never lie to anyone, but I mean I don’t just say whatever to shut my kids up from asking those hard questions. Ava has asked questions about the Trinity (we’re baptist, so Father, Son, Holy Spirit for those of you playing the at-home game). She didn’t say the word “trinity” but she wanted to know how God and Jesus were Father and Son and yet the same person. So simple to understand, right? Imagine trying to explain that to a 4-year-old. Actually, kids don’t have the finite boundries that adults do, so it may be easier to explain it to her than an adult who knows nothing about the trinity; I’m not sure. Then she wanted to know how God was everywhere and hears everyone’s prayers. She said something like, “God is always watching and following me.” That made me laugh out loud because it sounded creepy and kinda’ like a stalker more than a loving, all-knowing God! So we talked about that one. Then, she wanted to know about heaven, death, our spirit, etc. I’m glad she’s getting all those easy questions out-of-the-way so we can move on to harder stuff when she’s older. Sheesh.

The other day, I guess a little girl told Ava that she (the little girl) had been a “devil” for Halloween. Ava came home and told me then asked what a devil was. We don’t allow anything remotely evil for Halloween. The kids can only dress as “happy” characters and we don’t decorate with morbid stuff around our house. As a Christian, I just don’t think evil or evil spirits are funny or something to be played with. If you do at your house, it’s up to you, I’m just saying what we believe is right for our family. Anyway, this “devil” brought up the subject of Satan for Ava. She wanted to know all about who Satan was, why he’s evil all the time and why he wants to make us think/do bad things. I try to keep everything age appropriate, naturally, and by the end of our conversation I was wondering why that kid ever had to tell Ava she’d been a devil. Ava has never seemed freaked out by our conversations and she appeared satisfied with what I’d told her. Hopefully, we’re over theology for while.

Oh, and just so you know, Ava has told me she was going to be a mommy and a pastor when she grows up. So maybe that curiosity is going to help her like it did my engineer-husband!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. E.
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 02:01:52

    Don’t you just love it when kids ask question that have answers which go beyond their ability to understand???? It’s great, though, that they think about these things and prod us into laying a foundation for greater understanding later on.

    Reply

  2. Candace
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 05:12:46

    Wow…what a great Mom you are. I love how you answer her questions so honestly. I also find it refreshing to know that someone else doesn’t allow evil or scary costumes or decorations at Halloween….I always feel like I’m the only Mom with those restrictions.

    Reply

  3. momma
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 14:30:58

    I will never forget how you were explained by an early teacher about the trinity. In fact, I have used the egg example many times myself. You can explain anything so well.

    Reply

  4. Bro
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 14:09:59

    1645.Galatians 3:26 :For ye are all the children of God by faith in Christ Jesus.

    The son of our Father came to earth born in the flesh of an earthly child – for us to learn how Father loves all of us -his children. I love how many times the word ‘child’ and ‘children’ is in the bible, it is sharing with us how important the spirit of a child truly is.

    luv ya sis,
    Bro

    Reply

  5. 1beautifulmess
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 17:57:31

    wow. You’re kids are so smart and deep. I love it! What great examples you and Ashley are for these little minds. They are so blessed to have you as their parents. I am really proud of you too 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

