A Bit About Our Smidgen

So I thought I’d give a tiny bit of back story about how we came to own a Yorkie. Everyone that knows me was absolutely floored that we got a small dog. I have always been a “big-dog person”. In actuality, I guess I still am.

First, let me just say that I love dogs. Period. They’re hands-down my favorite animal on earth. They really are meant to be man’s companion. Don’t even get me started on all the sappy stuff that dogs mean to me. It’s a little scary, really, how much I adore them. I have worked in vet clinics, zoos, and the humane society, and while it’s cool to pet a tiger once in a while or carry around an opossum like a baby (oh yes I did, and I liked it..) those animal just don’t connect with you like a dog was made to do.

So, knowing how I feel about dogs in general, it’s not a terrible stretch to see how our family would welcome an ankle biter into our home. Caleb, our German Shepherd died last Christmas, so we had only our 10-year-old dog Sydney. There will never be another dog more intelligent, obedient, and all around as cool a dog as Sydney, so there was no need to try to duplicate that. It just isn’t going to happen. That dog just has something special that makes everyone love her, not to mention she’s smart enough to teach a class at the local community college.

When we are in Arkansas, we always hang out at Ash’s aunt’s house. She breeds Yorkies and had some puppies this time. There was a female that had a small underbite, so she wasn’t “perfect” for breeding or selling for $$$. This is the puppy we brought home with us. Ash was all for it, which was a little surprising. Later he said, “I knew when we went we were bringing home a puppy with us this time.” I wish he had let me in on that little secret because I was unaware! Ava really liked the puppy and was excited at the prospect of being able to “do her hair”. I guess I’ll have to learn to tie a Yorkie topknot. Lord help me..

All in all, Esther (I call her Smidgen) is doing well in our home. Sydney was not too excited about having her nip at her tail all the time, but they’re getting used to each other. Esther tries so hard to get Sydney to accept/like her. I hate to break it to Esther, but Sydney will never love her. Sydney, you see, is a humanoid, not a dog, and will therefore never make true friends with another dog. Oh she’ll hang out and act nice, but I’m pretty sure she talks about them behind their backs after other dogs are gone.

Here are some stats on Esther*: she’s 16 weeks this week. She was about 13.5 weeks when we got her. I gave her the last set of shots myself, so she hasn’t been to a vet yet. (She went to the vet in Arkansas with our aunt, just not with us.) I think she weighs about 3lbs. so far, so she’ll probably be about 6lbs. at most. We’ll see, I could be totally wrong! I haven’t started training her yet, except for house training. Honestly, only that has been half-hearted. I’ll start training her for real after the holidays. She is being crate trained, though, and is doing well with that. I have never trained a small dog before, so I don’t know how difficult it will be. I figure if I can clicker train an armadillo, surely I can teach a small dog something.

There you have it. Not exactly a planned union, but one we’re satisfied with so far. The kids love her, and that’s what’s really fun for me. She loves to run and play with them, and they like to feel like they’re really taking care of her. I’m not over the moon about her, but I’m sure she’ll grow on me. I haven’t heard her bark yet, so that’s music to my ears all by itself. I’m sure she’s a good dog and I’ll feel about her the way I do about all the rest of the dogs I’ve had over the years.

Welcome to the family, Smidge- I mean Esther.

*Ava loves the Veggie Tales story of Esther. She had to name her that because of her obsession since she was two with Esther from the Bible. I thought it was better than her wanting to name her Miley or Brittany because of an obsession with them. (which she does not have, thank God)

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 15:56:31

    O.K., my sister isn’t kidding when she says that she loves dogs more than anything in the world. If given the choice of visiting me in Indiana or spending a day at the dog store… I lose! I once had to wear a dog costume just to get her to spend the day with me, but I got tired of chasing those damn frisbies and getting in and out of my crate, I finally gave up. So welcome to our family Esther, and if you could, just pee on my sister foot once, just once for me!
    Still Loving ya Sis!

    Reply

  2. E.
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 15:58:03

    You seriously clicker trained an armadillo? I am in awe. I’m also thinking we should do more than just housebreak and teach our dogs to sit. I mean, if you can train an armadillo?? Right?? Yay for not being a little yapper dog. Hopefully she’ll keep that up.

    Reply

    • metaphase
      Dec 15, 2010 @ 21:24:52

      At the zoo I worked at, we had animals we used for education (ie. taking to school to talk about conservation, etc.). We clicker trained all sorts of animals so that we could get them to move where we wanted to clean enclosures, transport, stuff like that. A couple of the stranger things we clicker trained were the armadillo and a large porcupine!

      Reply

  3. Lori Mazeikis
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 12:35:59

    Charlet,
    I just stopped by your blog for the first time in quite a while and read about your Yorkie. Up to the part about Caleb that is. I am so sad!! I can’t believe Caleb is in doggie heaven. I am glad Sydney is still hanging in there. I miss ya’ll very much. Give Syd an extra long, snuggly hug for me, and tell the new pup I wish I was her doggie walker!
    BTW-I tried to email you a while back just to say hi but I didn’t hear anything so I don’t know if it’s the right email address.
    Lori

    Reply

  4. Sarah
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 23:04:23

    Little Smidgen. I know she will be a great fit for your family. I can’t wait to meet her one day (soon, hopefully).

    We love you all! Merry Christmas!
    Sarah

    Reply

  5. 1beautifulmess
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 17:54:22

    Essie is so cute!!! And I love that you also call her Essie, like Ester’s nickname on veggietales. Cute, cute.

    Reply

  6. Isabelle
    Dec 29, 2014 @ 14:12:48

    Hi I was looking up Yorkies with an under bite and the picture of your Ester came up… shes gorgeous. I am about to purchase a Yorkie that has an under-bite but I have concerns of what it would mean for her health. Your post was 4 years ago and I’m wondering how is Ester. could you please give me some in site on your doggies under-bite and your experience.
    Thank you,

    Isabelle

    Reply

    • metaphase
      Dec 29, 2014 @ 23:31:21

      We have actually moved out of the country, so we found a new home for here. However, my aunt is the breeder and I’ve seen no problems from this line. As with most small dogs, their teeth seem to decay faster, but that’s due mostly to the fact that they chew less than larger dogs.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

      Reply

Leave a Reply

