A Little Help, Please

Next week is homecoming week at Ava’s school. I find this particularly amusing since her school only goes to 8th grade. I think the “big game” is an 8th grade basketball game on Friday evening. I guess that’s sorta’ cute. Something else funny is that the school also has a pep band that goes to the basketball games! One of the refs commented that in 25 years on the job, he’d never seen a middle school pep band playing at games.

Anyway, next week is “spirit week” and Ava is all charged up for it. Everyday next week, they’re supposed to dress in some special way. For instance, Tuesday is “Nighty Knight” and they wear their favorite jammies to school. Ava already has a polka dot nightgown picked out for that. Thursday is dress as someone from a different country. Guess which country we’ll be doing. Give up? Yes, Vietnam. I think so, anyway. She has a blue Ao Dai that I hope she still fits into because she’s already talking about that one.

Ok, so here’s where I need the help. Wednesday she’s supposed to dress from a favorite decade. I need you all to help me come up with an outfit for a 4-year-old from a certain decade. I don’t really have a favorite time period, and Ava has only been alive 4 years, so I doubt she has a favorite unless you count 2006 to present! So, tell me what decade we need to choose and what she could wear that we may have around the house or would be cheap to come up with. I’m open to all suggestions!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jaime
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 01:45:06

    You have many options-
    90’s grunge- any over-sized plaid shirt with jeans and messy hair
    80’s- Where to begin? Sadly, this is starting to come back and it really scares me! Anyway, sassy hair, leggings with a tutu, off the shoulder bigger shirt with tank top under it- think flashdance/early saved by the bell. This might be the easiest since you can find some of this stuff in target with the layered shirt look as one piece. You can always add a little glove or some cute bright sunglasses. Nothing matches so you are safe with about anything.
    70’s- a tie-dyed shirt (might be a fun weekend project to make one) and jeans.
    Hope this helps!!

    Reply

  2. E.
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 02:50:36

    80s would be easiest since it seems to be coming back, but I vote 50s! Just imagine Ava in a poodle skirt!! Umm . . .do you sew at all? I hear poodle skirts aren’t hard (my mom has made me a couple over the years) but I supposed that’s all relative.

    Reply

  3. Michelle
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 03:28:55

    I agree with the 80’s comments- easiest to do, I think. Side ponytail- maybe with some of that spray-on temporary hair color, like a bright pink stripe, teased bangs- sprayed to really poof up, bright colorful clothes- maybe an oversized t shirt, hanging off one shoulder (with a tank top underneath, so she doesn’t look “trashy” – lol!), lots of bracelets, etc.

    I also think the 50’s idea would be cute, too!

    Reply

  4. Christina
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 16:30:24

    See now I was going to say 80’s and that she could wear a polo shirt (or 2! layered!) with the collar flipped up, and jeans with the cuff rolled and socks in some pastel color that matches the shirt. And def. go with the side pony tail. Love those! LOL The 80’s just have so many great options! Dontcha’ miss it? 🙂

    Reply

  5. Momma
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 16:49:31

    Of course, the 50’s would be my favorite since that WAS me. Just make her look like her TuTu did then and she’ll be really cute. Wish I could help that day. I remember the gray flannel like skirt, with big white poodle on it that you girls wore to everything like this. I don’t know if anyone still has it but it would be too big for her now. She’ll be great in anything.

    Reply

  6. asmalltowndad
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 18:02:02

    The 70’s. tie dye shirt, head band, peace sign and your good to go. Kids always like tie dying shirt anyway. Have fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

