The Eye of the Tiger

We’ve had our new dog Esther for about two months now, and it’s official. She’s killing me. It’s a good thing she’s pretty darn cute, otherwise I might follow through on my fantasies of punting her across the room, or out the back door, or…

In all, she’s actually pretty funny. AND, I still haven’t heard her bark. Thank the Lord for small blessings. The kids have a great time with her, when she’s not attacking their toes. Binh seems to have the most fun with her because she always happily follows him into the back yard so he doesn’t feel like he’s out there playing alone. The huge complaint I have is the house training. I know how to train dogs, and this dog is wearing me out. Her bladder is like the size of a quarter, so I have to let her out about every hour and a half or two hours. Honestly. Annoying. Esther is also a compulsive tissue-ripper. Girl loves her some tissues. So this means that with all the sickness that has been passing around our house (multiple times), there are pieces of tissue somewhere on the floor at all times.

This dog is definitely all terrier. Even so small, she has the attitude. At our house, we like to give our dogs “voices” and make them “talk” to various family members. Esther’s motto is “Never Give Up”. She will try, try, try, I tell ya’. When we sit on the couch, she tries to jump up there with us, but she’s too short to actually make it. She will jump at the couch for 20 minutes, never making it but trying just the same. You’ll just see a little head every few seconds over the edge of the couch. (That’s when we insert the “never give up!”) Sometimes, she backs up and makes a run at it with the same results. She also runs full force everywhere she goes. I think we maybe should have named her “Forrest”.

Here is a funny picture of her from last week. Take a look at the determination on her face and her tiny feet off the ground while she’s in her run. I think this would be considered a “Yorkie action shot”. Yes, I was totally laying on the ground to get this one:

Oh, that cracks me up..

Here’s another one from the same time we were all out playing:

Ok, so she’s cute. I told you that. Notice her little underbite? We say she prefers that we call that her “pout”.

Oh Esther, It’s a good thing I love dogs…

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelley O
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 18:15:08

    Love the action shot! We are having a heck of a time housetraining Princess Fiona too! Good thing they are so cute!

    Reply

  2. Tracy @ My Minivan Rocks!
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 18:17:23

    Our new dog has a tissue issue, too. She even got a couple of new boxes of Kleenex and some toilet paper rolls off of a laundry room shelf the other day. The worst was the dirty diaper she got her paws on the other day. That better only happen once.

    Reply

  3. Lauren Cristina Vitrano-Wilson
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 07:34:06

    Love the action shot. Too funny!

    Reply

  4. E.
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 21:34:41

    Great action shot. Little dogs are just harder to house train, I think. Our little terrier mutt took much, much longer than any of our big dogs. She also had that same spunky personaltiy until she hit middle age. Now she’s pretty much just a lump. A good little lump, but a lump.

    Reply

  5. Christina
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 19:07:15

    It’s the cute that saves ’em. And she is very cute! LOVE that action shot.
    Our mix breed mutt puppy (who is a mix of small breeds) STILL can’t be trusted to run free on carpet because she will suddenly out of nowhere poop. And she’s like 3 1/2 years old. I just keep her leashed to the kitchen table during the day (and crated at night) because I do not have the ability/energy to deal with it. It’s lucky she’s cute, is all I’m sayin.

    Reply

  6. asmalltowndad
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 19:31:07

    I hear the “Chariots of Fire” theme song playing in my head when I look at the running shot. I think Lauren uses one of those potty pads, with the fake grass on it for her terrier, I think she’s happy with it, but not sure. Goodluck!
    Link to music http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9myoXFk-O4U

    Reply

  7. Heather
    Jan 28, 2011 @ 20:22:34

    awesome pics! the first one made me laugh!!

    Reply

  8. Colleen
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 15:45:27

    That is one cute dog! I absolutely love that first picture of her in mid-air; you’re right, she looks extremely determined.

    Reply

  9. sarah
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 01:29:50

    I know I am a little late, but she is just too cute! I love her motto – ah, the plight of the small dogs. They have so much to prove, you know. The tissue eating is so annoying, mostly when it comes out a few days later, of you know what I’m sayin’. Nothing like tissue turds that stay in your yard forever. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

