Phonetic Alphabet

I’m sure I’ve told some of you or you’ve witnessed it yourself, but I have to get this down in writing because it’s one of those things I want to remember, though I’m sure I will. Also, one of my good friends who is a linguist will love this because she said she always wanted to teach her kids the alphabet this way.

A few months ago now, like back in November, I was getting Binh dressed. As I was putting his shirt on him, I heard him doing something that NO ONE ever taught him to do. He was saying the alphabet, but doing it phonetically, meaning he was saying the sounds the letters make instead of the name of the letter itself. At first I wasn’t sure what it was because he was doing it really quickly, then I realized it was the alphabet. So I of course asked him to do it again, in case it was some fluke, but no, he really was saying the entire phonetic alphabet in order. He didn’t miss a letter! I don’t think I’ve really ever even thought to try that except my friend Lauren one time said she wanted to teach her kids the alphabet that way to make reading easier. Well, Lauren, you may not have to teach it, they may do it on their own!

There’s so much going on in that little head…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 19:12:33

    There is a whole curriculum that teaches that way called, “Sing, Spell, Speak and Write.” It’s great. That’s how I’ve always taught my kids, until Sammy came along. He knows all the letters by name, can recognize them by sight, even if they’re upside down or backwards, and can write several of them. So, I’m wondering if it’s going to be hard to get him to “relearn” them by sound. I’m trying to introduce the sounds a little bit now. It will be interesting to see what happens when school starts. But I’ve always thought that teaching the sounds first makes reading much easier and gives them a really solid foundation. It’s great that Binh has already figured that out on his own. What a little smarty you have there!!

    Reply

  2. Lauren Cristina Vitrano-Wilson
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 10:59:05

    That is soooo cool! I’ve never heard of a child doing that on his own beofre. 🙂 You’ve got a smart one there. 🙂

    Speaking of all of this…I totally dropped the ball and never sent you anything abourt reading, did I? Let me know what types of thins you might want and I’ll see what I’ve got. Sorry!!!

    Love and hugs to your budding linguist,
    Lauren

    Reply

  3. 1beautifulmess
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 03:47:30

    He is such a smart boy!!!

    Reply

  4. asmalltowndad
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 15:48:39

    and he likes to fish! What a great kid

    Reply

Leave a Reply

