Close to My Heart

Most of you know that Ash and I lived in Japan for a few years back in the day. Better said, I lived in Japan and Ash lived on a ship in Yokohama Bay. See, during the time we were stationed in Japan, the ship Ash was on had the lovely distinction of being the most underway ship in the U.S. Navy. This means he was out to sea more than any other ship in the navy. So, I was basically living there alone, except for a small circle of close-knit friends. (Thank God!) I learned Japanese and took a job teaching English in Yokohama, a somewhat short train ride from where I lived in Yokosuka.

During my time there, I came to really understand a lot about people in general. I also began to deeply respect and later love the nation of Japan and its people. There were definitely times I snickered to myself about things they’d do (oh the horrible shoes and fashion choices), but they are a respectful, reliable people in general. I remember I was going to meet the gas man one day at 1:00pm. First, have you ever made an appointment here in the U.S. to get furniture delivered, or satellite t.v. hooked up, etc.? Then you know what you get, “We’ll be there between 12 and 5.” This was the same sort of appointment and they told me he’d be there “at 1:00” not even “around 1:00”. Sure enough, at 1:00pm, the guy was knocking at my door. For a while, I wondered whether that guy got to my house at like 5 ’till and waited until 1 o’clock exactly to knock on my door. That’s the kind of stuff that happens there that makes me smile a smile of admiration. So when I heard that the trains were not running in Japan, I knew how grave the situation was. There isn’t a time when trains aren’t running (on perfect time) in Japan. I’m sure you’ve all seen the “shovers” that work at the train station squeezing people into the train cars at rush hour. To think something so reliable is down and out breaks my heart. (It’s funny, because I just read a post by Lawmommy, and she was thinking the exact same thing!)

I haven’t written anything about the disaster there because I honestly don’t have a clue what to say. I don’t know where to even begin. My heart goes out to this country that for some reason I just “get”.  It renders me speechless to see what’s going on over there right now. I haven’t even spoken much to Ash about it because words just won’t come to my mind.

I spent some time back in Japan in 2009. I blogged about one of my interesting experiences here. This blog post sort of shows how the Japanese are flexible and can take things in stride. So, when I think about all the horriffic things that have been going on, I do know these people will bounce back and thrive once more. It may take a while, but it will happen. And that’s all I can say about that.

Please pray for Japan.*

P.S. The people I know there are all ok. They don’t live where all of this is going on.

*Less than 1% of the population of Japan are Christians.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy @ My Minivan Rocks!
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 16:33:47

    I lived in Okinawa in the sumnmer of ’96. I worked as a camp counselor fro military dependents. At the end of the trip I visited a friend in Yokosuka. This tugs at my heart, too. I just dno’t know what to say. It’s devastating.

    Reply

  2. asmalltowndad
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 14:43:20

    This sad that this wonderful Nation (U.S.A.) riots and destroys private property, commercial businesses and assault on innocent civilians, because the Lakers win a championship, are you kidding me! Oh, the Colts won a superbowl, alright, this gives me the right to smash into an electronic store and take what ever I can grab, or break into a food mart, beat the crap out of the clerk and grab a twinkie. This is why so many Nations hate our Country. We need to get back to RESPECT, HONOR, PRIDE, things we have lost and the Japanese people seem to hold dearly. Thanks Sis for the wonderful post and allowing me to vent. I pray for these folks and I hope everyone else does the same.

    Reply

  3. Christina
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 18:14:45

    I just keep thinking about that huge wave. And then I can’t think about it, because it’s too horrible. The Japanese are very strong resiliant people and I know they will come through this and show the rest of the world how to bounce back from great tragedy. I am praying for them daily… that they will know the strength, the peace and the grace of God in their grieving and rebuilding.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

