I Willn’t

Poor Binh is home from his usual, Thursday Mom’s Day Out with a double ear infection. So in his honor, I’ll make fun of him. Kidding. I kid from time to time. I just wanted to document this so I can remember it later.

Binh took speech from Early Intervention the first year he was home. It really only lasted about 8 months until he “graduated” out of the program. I don’t think he had any real problems. He just didn’t really speak at all, but he could understand and follow directions. (Well, he followed directions as much as any 18 month-old would.)

Now days, he’s a talking champ. He talks to us all the time, but is still shy with people he doesn’t know well. That’s just part of who he is though, not a function of his actual speaking ability. He does still say the “Wuh” sound for R’s, which is funny because you can ask him how to spell things like “red” and he’ll sort of sound it out in his head for a second and then say “w-e-d”. So cute!

His vocabulary is pretty big these days and seems to be growing all the time. The other day we were waiting for Ava at dance class and he was looking at one of those “I Spy” books. He looked at me and said, “Mommy, I can’t find Little Bo Peep. She should have a staff..” A staff? Who says that? It was strange enough that some other moms looked at him then asked how old he was. I guess he’s just been listening in Sunday school. There’s probably lots of talk of staffs there. 🙂

The cutest thing he still does is use the word (or non-word as the case my be) “willn’t”. This may come up when I say something like, “No, you can’t take your drink in the living room. You’ll spill it.” Binh’s reply? “I willn’t!” It makes sense to say “willn’t” instead of “won’t” if you’re applying the usual rules for contractions.

Do not= don’t

cannot= can’t

will not= willn’t

I just don’t have the heart to correct him. It’s way too sweet!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sis
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 19:01:02

    Okay, it might be cute but you need to correct him. Take this advise from a person who had a speech problem, cute doesn’t help him down the road. When he starts school, it hurts being made fun of by kids or even adults. Don’t hurt him by thinking its cute. I can go on but the main point is think about later.

    Reply

  2. metaphase
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 01:39:32

    Settle down, auntie. When I say I don’t correct him, I mean I don’t stop him mid-sentence to tell him the correct way. I do, however, mirror back to him what he said with the correct “won’t” inserted in “willn’t”‘s place. I know this is a little phase and that he will get it soon. I’m not worried at all.
    I do, however, find it endearing that you’re looking out for my boy. 🙂

    Reply

  3. asmalltowndad
    Mar 28, 2011 @ 13:30:45

    No big deal! I have horrible speech, and look at me, I made it through 4 months of college, graduated from high school with a negative GPA, and yes, sad to say…. I’m an artist! So who needs proper speech, because I HAVE A BLOG! whoo hooo!
    Both of these kids are brilliant, you can hear it in their speech, see it in their actions, and you can tell that they are constantly thinking and learning… and their parents aren’t all that dumb either. Whale, nuff said, I willn’t go on and on, who need proper speech, when your so danged cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

