Can You Keep a Secret?

I don’t know if you remember, but we took a little family vacation a couple of years ago and visited Disney. Shortly after we got back, Ash discovered he had a business trip in- where else? Disney World. So we went back to Disney just about a week after we got home the first time.

This year, we planned a family vacation to the mountains in northern Georgia. We’ll be staying at a “cabin” (it looks more like a house to me, but whatever. I’m not complaining!) near a state park (or is it national park? hmm..) We’re all gearing up for the little adventure. The kids are looking forward to swimming, fishing, hiking- and by hiking I mean walking on well-defined trails, and making s’mores etc. For the last two years, Ash has been working on three different destroyers for the Navy and his last one sails away on Friday. So you could say he’s ready for a vacation.

A couple of weeks ago, we found out that business trip in Disney is like a thing that happens every two years. So, guess what? Yes, we like to double-up on our vacations around here! We’re going to head to Disney World at the end of June! Ash will be in conferences for three days. This time, I’m not too worried about trying to take the kids to the parks by myself. They’re able to listen and follow directions, as well as go potty as a group when we stop, which is of course the key. I also feel good about being able to watch them at the pool if we just want to do that part of the time. I booked two extra days in the hotel, so Ash will be able to hang with us during the day one day. I think we’re going to go to Sea World that day, though. Ava has seen the commercials on t.v. and talks about going there. It’s totally free for military to get in to Sea World one day per year, so that’ll be our day! The other days, Ash should be done in the afternoon, so we’ll still have dinners and night-time stuff at the parks together.

I have been waiting to tell the kids about the trip to Disney, because I wanted to make sure it was really going to happen as far as Ash’s conference goes. His captain told him he wanted him there, so he’s all set at this point. I still don’t want to tell the kids too early. For one, I want them to still enjoy our relaxing time in the mountains. Then, I also don’t want to hear “How Looong?” every day until time to go.

So, do you have a suggestion for springing the big news on them? I know they’ll be so excited/happy they won’t be able to stand it. To this day, they still talk about our first Disney trip(s) from when they were two. I can’t even imagine what they’ll think of it this time.

Leave a suggestion of how to surprise/tell them about our next trip.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elaine
    May 18, 2011 @ 19:04:41

    I don’t have any suggestions off the top of my head, but . . . LUCKY!

    Reply

  2. Michelle
    May 19, 2011 @ 18:05:13

    I’d tell them that morning, right before you get in the car to go (to Dis., I mean). They’ll get pumped up about going, then get the additional excitement of going “right NOW.”

    What a blessing! Have fun!

    Reply

  3. 1beautifulmess
    May 20, 2011 @ 11:51:25

    Jealous!! But, happy for y’all! 🙂 Swing my north AL on your way to n GA…please, please, PLEASE!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

