Slightly Annoyed as a….Cicada Killer?

Ok, well the good news is I don’t have a band of hornets living in my front garden. The bug guy came over yesterday, promptly at 2:00; I was quite impressed. He said the “bees” I have are actually cicada killer wasps. I had never heard of them, but he said they are non-aggressive and mostly just annoying.

These cicada killers look a lot like hornets, but do not really sting humans unless you’re stepping on them or handling them roughly. Believe me, I won’t be handling them at all. The male does not sting at all and the female can sting but doesn’t really sting humans in aggression. He said their “season” should last about another 3 weeks, and if I want him to he’ll spray to get rid of them. It would be about $85 to spray around all our front yard for them.

I don’t really know what I want to do since I know they aren’t going to hurt the kids. They can bite, I guess, but again for the most part they wouldn’t do that. There are just a lot of them right now and they’re just sort of a pain to have around. I can hear them buzzing when I go outside. Yuck.

*

Here is the Cicada Killer Wasp. You can see how I thought it might be a hornet, right? I mean, right? Keep in mind, when I try to look at them, they’re 1) buzzing around and freaking me out so I’m not inclined to study them and 2) they’re buzzing around not keeping still for me to look at even if I wanted to study them.

*google image, not my own photo

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 20:03:38

    Is a wasp any better than a hornet?

    Reply

  2. Matthew
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 20:39:32

    You may or may not remember our friend Kristen from Pensacola. She was the blonde (not Becky) in our wedding. We called her Bonifay because she was from Bonifay.

    Anywhew….

    She and her husband and their kids live in TN and have just recently had a huge infestation of these things. She made several facebook posts about it.

    I have no remedy for you or even suggestion. I just wanted to mention a like story. Sorta like, “hey, I have a friend in AL and since you live in AL you probably know them!”

    Reply

  3. Tracy @ My Minivan Rocks!
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 03:12:22

    Ew. I’m glad they don’t sting, but they’re still yucky.

    We have some sort of bee that is burrowing into our swingset. My husband laughs every time they do though because he said treated wood has arsenic in it. I guess they are taking care of the problem themselves!

    Reply

  4. asmalltowndad
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 13:31:06

    Hey Sis, these things are so impressive in size, I have watched them forever and they truly are pretty harmless unless stepped on, unlike other smaller hornets such as yellow jackets. I’ve seen them take out a cicada in mid air like a jet fighter. But years ago ( when boat shoes or topsiders were in style) I had one land next to a step, I crept down the steps, jumped and landed foot down on the hornet. It felt like a rock through my shoe, I wiggled and squirmed to smash it flat, lifted my foot up, and the crazy thing flew away like I had never even touched it. From that day forward, I leave them alone, because I’m pretty sure it could have kicked butt that day if it wanted to. Be afraid of all wasp and hornets, but these really aren’t that bad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

