Full Circle

Rather suddenly, I’ve decided to go back to work in the fall. Both kids will be going to school full-time (meaning, Mon-Fri. all day), and a friend told her administrator about me and he asked me to interview.  I wasn’t sure how hard it would be to find a job in this economy given some of the struggles I’ve heard about from friends looking for work. Apparently, math and science is where it’s at these days because I’m trying to figure out where I want to teach between two places. I didn’t know I’d go from zero to too many jobs in just a couple of weeks!

In the next few days, I’m going to try to post about the jobs and the pros and cons of each. There is a really weird twist of …I don’t know…something with this first offer.

The first offer is for a chemistry teaching position at a private high school. {Enter weird twist} I do not love chemistry. I do, however, love older kids. Call me a sadist or just plain crazy, but little kids are just not my thing. I’m more of a middle/high school gal.  I hate all the hand-holding that comes with little kids. I’d rather just deal with teenage angst and eye rolling. Anyway, back to my non-love of chemistry. I have a minor in chemistry, so I do know all about it, and I love science in general. I don’t think I’d have trouble teaching it. I think the thing about chemistry that leaves a strange pit in my stomach stems back to….you guessed it….. my high school chemistry teacher. Or should I say teachers.

My first chemistry teacher was, I’m sure, a nice man. He never took the time to get to know my name and called me by a wrong name the entire semester. (or year, or whatever it was back then) That was the first time I just gave up after a while and let someone mispronounce my name forever. (I go by “Char” on my blog but I have an unusual name and often people get it wrong. I usually help them out, but I just let it go with this guy after a while.) I could never understand him, either. He had something wrong with his throat that made is voice pretty quiet to begin with, then it would just totally go out in the middle of a sentence. I realize this was not his fault and he couldn’t help it. I’m not trying to make fun or bag on him at all. It just made trying to learn from him very difficult. Because of his disability he also had trouble managing his classroom at times. The whole experience was just frustrating and demotivating. I did everything I could to get a different teacher the next semester.

Little did I know it would go from bad to worse..

*image from The Science Spot, google images

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 15:09:42

    My high school chemistry teacher was a real nice Indian (as in East India) lady who wore beautiful high heel shoes every day and pronounced “Participate” like “Precipitate”…. “You must parcipitate in class 100% of the time”.

    Reply

  2. Tracy @ My Minivan Rocks!
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 15:20:47

    My high school chemistry was a hippie. I think he knew how to make his own acid. He would always say, “It’s a wild world, man.” When I asked for my midterm grade he said, “Oh you know I don’t believe in that. I didn’t learn much chemistry, but I got an A. 🙂

    Good luck!

    Reply

  3. metaphase
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 15:37:08

    Bwaha! If he was a hippie chemist, I’m SURE he knew how! One of my college organic chemistry professors wrote a long equation on the board while he was lecturing about something completely unrelated. At the end he said, “And if you didn’t get any of that, here’s the equation for crystal meth. At least you’ll have a job to fall back on.”! He promptly erased it, but it was really funny.

    Reply

  4. sarah
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 11:47:29

    That is awesome! You will be a great teacher!!! What a perfect job for someone with young kids, too! Congratulations. (I wanted to put !!!! at the end of my congrats, but how many !!!! can I use in one comment? Apparently, quite a few!!!!!!!!!!!)

    Reply

  5. asmalltowndad
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 14:26:08

    I wasn’t for sure what to do with my chemistry background either… bwaha, bwahaaaa, haaaaa! Who am I fooling I still color for a living! Have fun Sis and you’ll make a wonderful teach!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

