Sea World

While we were on vacation #2 we had the chance to visit Sea World a day that Ash didn’t have to be at his conference. We went one day early so he’d be able to go with us. Sea World offers active duty military free entry to their parks one day per year, so we took this opportunity to take them up on that offer. I think active duty military can go to any of the Anheiser theme parks for free, like Busch Gardens, Discovery Cove, or Aquatica. If you’re like me, you didn’t even know they had all those parks.

We had a great time at Sea World. I can almost cry just seeing the beauty of those killer whales when they first come out. Ok, I did cry a little. I do have to say, the “show” has changed greatly from some years ago when we were there. If you’ve been in the past, you’ll probably remember how the trainers would swim with the whales and do stuff like stand on their nose while the whales jumped out of the water, etc. Well, they don’t do that AT ALL anymore. The trainers don’t get in the water with the whales, ever. One lady stood on that shallow platform while the whale propped himself up in a pose, but other than that the trainers had no physical interaction with the whales. I also remember that, during the show years ago, the whales were able to swim in the pool in the “on stage” area as well as go “behind the stage”. This time, the trainers were vigilant about keeping the other whales in the “behind the stage” pool by locking a gate. I mean they meant business with that gate. My guess is all these changes occurred after that one trainer was killed last year. The show was still fun and the kids loved it and knew no difference, so it was all good.

Binh loved getting to see polar bears and penguins, as well as feeding and petting the dolphins. Ava was too scared to pet the dolphins. She would have been too scared to pet the stingrays, but I just sort of grabbed her hand and stuck it in the water. Once she realized what she’d done, she was happy to pet the rays.

It was a long, hot day, but no hotter than here at home, so getting to see cool marine animals in the hot weather was better than being here. It was also overcast most of time were in Orlando, so there wasn’t just sun beating  down on us the entire time.

I took a few pictures of our Sea World exploration, more than Disney because I had Ash to help me out. I don’t know where these kids get their silliness…

Binh was all about feeding the dolphins. It looks like both he and Ash are talking at the same time to each other 🙂

Ava? Loves dolphins in theory. However, she’s not see keen on them when they’re two feet away. Notice how she’s got her hands pinned to her body? She’s not going to fall for someone grabbing her hand like I did at the ray tank. (note: she loved the rays after I made her touch them and wanted to stay and keep petting them. I’m sure she would have been the same with the dolphins, but I didn’t push the issue. I guess they were a bit more intimidating.)

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarah
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 19:22:22

    we love seaworld!!!! How sad that they don’t do the cool show anymore, but I totally get it. We went about 5 years and it was so cool to us, even as adults. I bet the kids really had a great time. I love the pictures!

    Reply

  2. 1beautifulmess
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 14:28:47

    totally in love with the 1st picture!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

