To Be Excited About Laundry

I talked a little while back about wanting a new washer and dryer and all of my woes with the old ones. Ours were getting old, a little rusty, and pretty inefficient. Well, I’m happy to report that we bought a new set (washer/dryer) a couple of weeks ago.

We’d been looking at this Samsung set and were waiting for them to go on sale again. The first time we looked at them, they were on sale for a great price at B3st Buy. We weren’t sure we wanted that exact model at the time because we hadn’t done any research first. Well, if you if you know anything about Ash, you know the man’s a researcher. Our online Consumer Reports subscription gets a work out from my husband. (And our friends, because we give out the password  so others can research their purchases, too!:) Anyway, after we found out that it wasn’t just us who thought this was a great washer and dryer, we went back and they were no longer on sale. 😦 The girl who worked there, Thoa (yes we became friends through this whole thing.) said she’d call us when they went back on sale. Being the impatient people we are, we beat her to the punch. I was online looking at the ads each week and saw them back on sale a couple of weeks ago. Ash and I are like my parents always were; once we get our mind wrapped around wanting something, we want to buy it THAT DAY. So, before Thoa could even call us we were out at B3st Buy.

We had also looked at L0wes who also carries this model. We decided to use the L0wes’ price match guarantee. I think they do price match plus 10%. We couldn’t double up and get Ash’s military discount as well, but that was ok. We got a great deal and made a friend at B3st Buy. PLUS, I got my awesome washer and dryer! Who could ask for more? Ok, well, I’d like to ask for someone to fold and put the laundry away…;)

We bought the Samsung models. The washer is 4.7 cu. foot capacity. I went with the white because the pewter was about $150 more per appliance. Who, really, is going to see my washer/dryer anyway since it’s back in its own little room? Well, except for the whole internet, of course, since I just posted pictures! It’s not like I’ll be inviting anyone back to the laundry room for tea and cookies on them or anything, so I’m totally fine with the color. I think the white looks clean and neat too. Ash also just bought white cabinets to put in our laundry room, so we’ll be getting rid of the wire shelving that is above them. Come to think of it, I may want to serve guests in my laundry room once we’re done with it. It may be nicer than the rest of the house!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Aug 10, 2011 @ 16:24:16

    oooh! How futuristic they look! (You can tell how long it’s been since I’ve shopped for washers and dryers!)

    Reply

  2. sarah
    Aug 10, 2011 @ 19:23:27

    congratulations!!!!!! I bet the set is AWESOME and I am sure you are shocked how quickly your laundry gets done these days. I am with you on the white… who cares? I am sure by the time you all get rid of the set (need a new one) the pewter will be sooooooo out of style anyways. 🙂 Ahhh, I love (your) Consumer Reports online researching.

    Reply

  3. asmalltowndad
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 12:35:53

    So what are these things used for…. Hunting, Fishing, Eating while watching the Discovery channel? I’ve never seen such strange objects, must be something new, so you say they wash your clothes, I just thought that you throw your clothes in a hamper and then they become instantly clean and hung in the closet. Wow! What will they think of next.
    Very cool sis! Love ya

    Reply

  4. Tamiko
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 03:35:12

    I would like to have tea and cookies in your laundry room!!! The set looks nice!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

