First Day 2011

It’s been a crazy week at our house, to say the very least. Ash started a new job. Well, same job, but at a new location. He’s still doing the same job for the navy, but we’ve technically changed duty stations. The new location is just on the other side of town, so we don’t have to move or anything.

I started my new teaching job. The kids are great, the other staff is great, but the getting up at 5 in the morning? Not so great. I also have to get the kids up and take them to before care because I have to be there at 7:10am. This whole routine is going to take some getting used to. Also, I have to make spankin’ new lesson plans every week which is really time-consuming. I told one of my co-workers, who is the other new teacher at the school, that I wish it was next year. That way, I would already have all this up front work finished.

Now the part you really care about. The kids had their first day. So far, they are both loving school and doing great. Ava cried the other day when she had to go to before care, which broke my heart, but she really likes kindergarten and her teacher. I was a little worried about how Binh would do around adults he wasn’t used to, but the staff at the school had been “working on him” since last January. The principle and other preschool teachers always made a point to speak to him when I picked up Ava, so he already knew them a little bit on the first day. His teacher told me he is a regular social butterfly, that he talks to her and the other kids. What a huge victory! I had prepared them that Binh may not talk for 6 months since that’s what he did in Mom’s Day Out, but I guess he was just ready to get to school.

Both of my kids seem to be teacher’s “helpers”. Since Ava will not nap at school, she has been the “nap monitor”. The teacher leaves the room during nap time to go make copies, use the restroom, etc. and Ava makes sure no one gets rowdy while the teacher is gone. This little job is right up Ava’s alley since she loves to boss and tell on people! I’m joking (mostly) 🙂 Binh has helped his teacher with teaching the rest of the kids what vowels are and what they “say”. He apparently also taught the other kids their shapes. I hope he continues to enjoy himself. So far, so good.

Here are a couple of pics I quickly took before heading off to school on the first day.

I know Binh looks a little apprehensive in this photo, but I think he was totally fine. He just hates picture time.

Here’s Ava at her desk on the first day. I went to Ava’s room first and Ash accompanied Binh. Then, we each took a little time at the other’s classroom. I did a really quick job of blurring that kid’s face in the background and erasing our last name. But isn’t my little gal a sweetie?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 20:25:40

    I think the kids will be just fine, with their parents social graces and their Uncle Ryan’s intelligence, they will be just fine. And wow I’m glad you explained about the kids in the background, I thought she was in a class with ugly aliens or something! LOL

    Reply

  2. Matthew
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 02:43:39

    I’m glad you’ve embraced the Alabama “big bow.”

    Reply

  3. 1beautifulmess
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 13:09:47

    Love it!! Sweet babies! Miss y’all tons!

    Reply

  4. 1beautifulmess
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 01:22:52

    HELLO???? Its been three weeks?? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

