I’m Still Alive

I know it’s been forever since I posted anything, but it’s been a whirlwind at this house. Our family has been in the process of adjusting to me being back at work. Well, I’ve never worked since having kids, so they had a lot to get used to.

The kids have to go to before-care at school. That has not been a big hit. There were tears from Ava for many many days. Now she just mostly slumps in there and gives me a sad look before I leave. I have to get up at 5:00 am to get the kids to school and me to work by 7:10 am. Once a week (at least), the kids go to after school care. They like that much more because they get to play at the play ground for about and hour and half after school ends.

We also don’t have a lot of time after school or even on the weekends. I have to make lesson plans every weekend, though I’ve become a little more efficient. And, we eat out more than we used to during the week. It seems like we one of us (me or Ash) has some sort of meeting etc. every evening. We have gotten a house cleaner since I went back to work. It was Ash’s idea because he didn’t want me to feel so stressed about all the things I had to get done in my “down time”. He may have been getting fed up with our house in disarray, too! (There really is not down time, it’s just the time I’m not at my school!) It has been a wonderful investment so far. How great is it to come home to a clean house- one that I didn’t invest any time into doing? Ah, yes. A silver lining.

So, it’s been hard. Everyone tells me the first year is the hardest and that it will get better. I’m not sure that makes me feel a lot better! A year is a long time. There have been a few upsides. I have a pool of babysitters now! We’re going to go out to the movies tonight for the first time since I don’t know when. Another plus? Kids at school are starting to come by my room just to say hi or to tell me about something that happened to them during the day. One kid yesterday stopped by after school just to show me his art project he’d worked so hard doing. I bragged on it though I actually know nothing about art. It made me feel good to know he took the time to share it with me, though.

Also yesterday my students filled my board with messages of “I love Mrs. F____” in different languages (They know I love languages). That definitely helps make it worth it…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 14:56:04

    Glad to see you online! I was trying to figure out how to put ASL
    icons on here that says “I love Mrs. F” but gave up.

    Reply

  2. sarah
    Oct 01, 2011 @ 00:58:24

    I love your silver linings. I am glad things are getting a little more routine for you guys. And a date night?!?!?!? What in the world? I am happy you all are able to have some down time together. I love the thought of going somewhere and then coming home to a clean house that I did not do! Awesome! XOXO

    Reply

  3. Janet Hill
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 23:59:33

    My Darling Daughter, Just know that you are the greatest teacher ever. I am not an easy student but you could always get through to me and I could learn whatever it was you were trying to help me with. I surely did love having a cleaning lady when I worked. What am I saying? I would love one now. Hang in there as I know “You WILL make a difference. xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

